ECP announces by-polls schedule for national, provincial assemblies

Multan NA-148 by-election: polls underway amid tight security

Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced the schedule for by-polls on six National Assembly and 17 provincial assembly seats to be held on April 21.

The top electoral body issued a notification regarding the election program for vacant NA and PA seats where re-election will be organized next week.

According to the notification, the by-polls will be held on six NA, 12 Punjab Assembly, 2 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly, 2 Balochistan Assembly, and one Sindh Assembly seats.

A total of 239 candidates are set to participate in the upcoming by-elections, including 50 contenders for NA seats. Pakistan Peoples Party leader Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari was elected unopposed in NA-207 constituency, while another PPP leader, Zubair Ahmed Junejo, was also elected without facing any contest on PS-80 Dadu seat.

Subsequently, 23 candidates are contesting by-polls for KP Assembly seats, 154 candidates for Punjab Assembly seats, and 12 candidates for Balochistan Assembly seats.

The ECP spokesperson mentioned that polling material has been provided to the provincial election commissioner, and all district returning officers (DROs) and returning officers (ROs) are fulfilling their duties in accordance with the by-polls’ schedule. Additionally, the printing of ballot papers has been ongoing since March 30.

The spokesperson also stated that the commission is in contact with the interior, defense ministries, and provincial law enforcement agencies (LEAs) to ensure the peaceful conduct of the by-elections.

ECP announces by-polls schedule for national, provincial assemblies

NA speaker express grief over deaths of

ECP announces by-polls schedule for national, provincial assemblies

Gag order: Trump in big trouble after

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *