Home / Sports / England bowl against Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI
England bowl against Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI

England bowl against Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI

BRISTOL, United Kingdom: England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Sri Lanka in the third one-day international at Bristol on Sunday.

England made one change from the side that won Friday´s second ODI at Edgbaston by 10 wickets, with pace bowling all-rounder Chris Jordan replacing off-spinner Moeen Ali.

That left in-form leg-spinner Adil Rashid as the only specialist slow bowler in England´s XI.

This was Jordan´s first match at this level since he featured against South Africa at Centurion in February.

Sri Lanka recalled seam-bowling all-rounder Dasun Shanaka in place of off-spinning all-rounder Suraj Randiv.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews, struggling with a hamstring problem, was passed fit to play.

Dinesh Chandimal, who suffered a hamstring injury while batting at Edgbaston, was included.

But it was uncertain at the toss whether he would also keep wicket, with fellow gloveman Kusal Perera, a top-order batsman, having deputised behind the stumps on Friday.

England lead the five-match series 1-0 after Tuesday´s first ODI at Trent Bridge was tied.

England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal (wkt, Angelo Mathews (captain), Dasun Shanaka, Farveez Maharoof, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS), Tim Robinson (ENG), TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (ENG)
Match referee: David Boon (AUS)  Utv-Line

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top