Home / National / PML-N names nominees from Punjab for elections 2018
PML-N names nominees from Punjab for elections 2018

PML-N names nominees from Punjab for elections 2018

LAHORE: Amid internal battles, Nawaz Sharif-led Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) on Saturday announced candidates from Punjab who will be vying for seats in Punjab Assembly and National Assembly (NA).

As per details garnered, the list was shared on party’s official Twitter account.

Maryam Nawaz will contest elections for the first time for seat in lower house of the parliament. Nawaz’s apparent political heir will battle Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Yasmeen Rashid for NA-127.

The biggest political battle in Lahore will be fought for NA-131 where former Railways Minister Saad Rafique will take on PTI supremo Imran Khan. On the other hand, former Punjab Chief Minister (CM) will contest election for NA-132.

For NA-129, former speaker of NA Ayaz Sadiq will take on PTI’s heavyweight Aleem Khan whereas Hamza Shehbaz will take on PTI’s Nouman Qaiser.

In Rawalpindi, PML-N has fielded Hanif Abbasi against Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid.

Former interior minister Ahsan Iqbal—who was shot in the shoulder—will take on PTI’s singer-turned-politican Ibrarul Haq for NA-78 whereas PTI’s Usman Dar will once again compete against ex-foreign minister Kh Asif.

In Faisalabad, ex-Punjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullah will vie for NA-106 against PTI’s Nisar Jutt whereas ex-minister for power and water will take on PTI’s Farrukh Habib for NA-108.

In addition, Khurram Dastgir Khan has been awarded the ticket to contest from NA-81.

Chaudhry Nisar

Ostensibly, there seems a rapprochement between Ch Nisar and PML-N’s top brass and party avoided fielding candidate against former interior minister in NA-59 and NA-63.  

Complete list below: 

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top